Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

Help! Head unit removal / Head unit wiring

4K views 34 replies 9 participants last post by  jrock645 
#1 ·
I'm installing new speakers and what not today. Video says the underneath bolts are 8mm but both my 8 and 9mm ratchets are too small. 10 is too big. Wtf!

#8 ·
Help! Head unit wiring

So I began installation of a new sound system today. Component JBL power up front and coaxials in the rear. Wired the front speakers, installed the rear speakers, ran speed wire which will go to the LC7i, and ran power wire for the amp.

I'm stuck on the head unit wiring. I've already bugged supafresh quite a bit, and he was helpful to say the least. I got a list of the speaker output wire colors coming out of the head unit. I'm seeing multiple yellow wires, so I'm hesitant to cut anything.

Does anyone have info on the wire colors? I spent 8 hours on all of it today- taking the car apart, wiring, applying the gt mat etc. I've never done any of this before so it went slow. I was planning to finish but I ran out of daylight- I'm working out of the parking lot of my apartment complex. Difficult to say the least.

Any help would be most appreciated.

#9 ·
#12 ·
Ok cool. Got a similar list elsewhere. Will start on that soon. Trying to finish all the trunk wiring to the amp, lc7, etc. I have no idea how I'm going to get this 4g wire into the distro box. It's rated for it but I dunno how.

#13 ·
Mine didn't fit either, funnily enough, in a 0/4 gauge, and I was trying to insert 4 gauge.

Anyways, twist the wires like a typical strand, then start shaving/cutting off little clumps on the outside "perimeter". Eventually it'll get down to size. Just dont go cutting off a huge chunk. It also may help if you remove the metal "cuff" from the distributor block, if yours has one. I was able to manually slip it onto the wire much easier than it would've been to jam it in the socket without the cuff already on.

Ah... Indeed they are. I'll try that