Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

What Caused This? (Unexpected Tire Cracking)

2K views 20 replies 11 participants last post by  2Accordz 
#1 ·
Hi guys, newbie here (first post actually). I was rotating my tires today when I noticed these cracks on my tires. The cracks are mostly covered by the hubcaps normally and I failed to notice them on my weekly checks. The cracks are only observed on the two tires on the left side of the car. The cracks are on both sides of the tires at the same spots. I was hoping someone can shed some light on what caused these cracks.

A little history of the tires:
They're Goodyear Eagle Sports.
They have about 21k miles on them.
All four tires were replaced at the same time. Bought and mounted by Goodyear.
DOT built date of the tires are 3213, 3113, 3113, 3113.
Bought and mounted in September of 2015.
Pressure checked bi-weekly and maintained at 30-32 psi regardless of outside temperature.
I rotate them every 3000-4000 miles.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe the first picture actually shows the tire bead bundle being exposed.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 · (Edited by Moderator)
I don't understand why the inside face of the tire would be like that too.

Thank you, the car is parked outside year round, but always in the east-west orientation (front of the car pointing directly west and tail of the car pointing directly east). I don't understand why the inside face of the tire would be like that too though.

#4 ·
They look sun baked and too old. In which case they are providing less than optimal traction. They might be getting hard.
Although 2013 is not that old. :dunno:

I would try armor all on the sidewalls, but NOT the tread. See if that helps. Start planning on new tires.

#7 · (Edited by Moderator)
Thank you, I'll give ArmorAll a try tomorrow. Hopefully it will help the tire last until new tires arrive or something is worked out with Goodyear.