Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

How many gallons extactly is the fuel tank

43K views 8 replies 8 participants last post by  sprite03 
#1 ·
Im a newb here. I just got my 2003 accord with 63k on it last week. I went to the pump with about 1/5 of gas remaining, but i only needed 9 gallons to fill it full. I guess the capacity is only about 12 gs eventho the manuel says 17. And also i only get about 250 miles out of full tank, what's going on with it?

#2 ·
I have the '06 and that's 17.1. Whatever your manual says is what it has. Don't trust a gas guage to show you that 1/5 is left. It's just an estimate.

#5 ·
My friend has put 17.0xx gallons in his 6th gen (boosted F23A4 auto)...so it definitely is as advertised. When I was driving my friend's Odyssey around though, I had the light come on + drove another 15-20 miles (which should have been another gallon of fuel according to the MPG we got), I still only put in about 14 or 15 gallons into the 20.0 gallon tank. That's amazing because it was almost at the E line.

#6 ·
Hi All:

___I usually drive ~ 90 miles beyond the Low Fuel light or to 0 miles on the Range (distance to empty) as shown in the NAVI. The low fuel appears with ~ 68 miles range still showing in the NAVI’s TC if that helps? The max I have driven was ~ 130 miles beyond Low Fuel.

___As for tank cap, there was a real good discussion about this in another thread just recently. From empty to top off, it’s a touch above 19.6 gallons in the 17.1 gallon rated tank.

___Good Luck

___Wayne R. Gerdes

#7 ·
I have an 04 Accord 4 cyl and when the low fuel light comes on it takes 12 gal. to fill.
That means I have 5 gal left or 150 miles or so!!
However I have always filled up at that point going no further than 30 miles
after the light comes on.

#8 ·