2003 V6 EX Crankshaft Bolt Removal - Drive Accord Honda Forums

Go Back   Drive Accord Honda Forums > Honda Accord Main Forums > The 7th Generation

Drive Honda Accord Forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2012, 07:57 PM
1st Gear

2003 V6 EX Crankshaft Bolt Removal

This is my first time posting. I am trying to replace the timing belt and water pump on my wife's 2003 V6 EX, but haven't been able to loosen the crankshaft pulley bolt. I was using the Honda Crank Pulley tool to hold the crankshaft pulley still while trying to loosen the crankshaft pulley bolt by turning it counter-clockwise with a 4 ft breaker bar. I was not able to get the bolt loose.

Can anyone tell me if turning the bolt counter-clockwise is the correct way to loosen it? Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-17-2012, 08:13 PM
Out of Control

use the blip method. pull the fuel fuse. Put a socket a breaker bar. Crank the car. Pop goes the bolt. But do some research on how to do it, and I am not responsible if you do it wrong.
Old 01-18-2012, 02:55 PM
3rd Gear

blip method works. i used it once. though last time, i used a $35 electric impact wrench from harbor freight tools. worked like a charm.
Old 01-18-2012, 03:06 PM
4th Gear

I would use a impact wrench on it.

Gm Syncromesh Fm, TL-S sway bars, Ingalls torque damper, Stage 1 exhaust mod, Intake resonator delete, short shifter, RV-6 V3 j-pipe, RV-6 V3 PCD's, P&P intake runners, semi-ported/polished intake plenum with custom throttle body spacer, TL-S trans mount, 06 TL 5 spoke rims
Old 01-18-2012, 03:42 PM
1st Gear

Thanks for the replies to my post. I read about using the starter method to loosen the crank bolt, but am concerned about damaging something on te engine.

Can someone please confirm that the crank pulley bolt must be turned counter-clockwise to loosen it?