Drive Accord Honda Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I suspected that my wimpy 51R battery was getting weak on my '03 Accord I4 so I swung by Autozone and had it tested. Sure enough, their meter read "bad battery". My neighbor is a pretty knowledgeable and has a decent tester so I had him test it just to confirm. I bought a new, quality 51R (I know, should have done the conversion), installed it and it slowly turned over twice and then nothing........like it was another dead battery.
I'm not an idiot but I'm not too technically savvy when it comes to diagnosing electrical problems. I have a gut feeling that the starter is shot but not sure? I have an appointment at a local repair shop for tomorrow but I just don't want to bring it in and get hosed like.....$500 for a new starter that I probably could have done myself. On the other hand, I don't want to "guess" that it's the starter, order a new one and find out that wasn't the problem. Are starters a weak point on 7th generation I4's?
Any way to diagnose with essentially no electrical testing tools? I've posted on here a couple of times and appreciate the advice I have received so much! Any input would be greatly appreciated......thanks.
Oh geez......I hope it's not the starter. I just looked and a new OEM Mitsubishi starter is $350! And.....it says intake manifold has to come off to replace starter. Wow.....hope that isn't it.

·
No lifetime fluids!
1,019 Posts
Your neighbor definitley tested the new 51R good?

Does your neighbor maybe have a charger that has a high amp start mode? I'd try that or maybe have someone jump you to make sure that you're getting enough power and then see if it does start.

Connections are definitely tight on the battery? Check where your negative cable goes to at your fender.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·