Drive Accord Honda Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm very new to this but wanted to see if I can get some feed back on my problem. My Accord is a 2003 with 250,000 miles. It was running good then I started noticing that it was losing power. When I'm at 30-40mph the RPMS go to 3000 and stay there and I can't go any faster. It doesn't shift over. If anyone can take the time to give me a few pointers, I would appreciate it.

· 8th Gen Believer
5,648 Posts
Your transmission may be slipping. I experienced that in an 03 V6 I had.

· Registered
04, v6 accord, ¿lx?, BAYA, J30A4
451 Posts
Does the “D” light flash when you experience this? (As in the gear selector light near the tachometer)

4 or 6 cylinder? You can find out by looking at a sticker under the hood it’ll either say 2.4 (4cyl) or 3.0 (6 cyl). Or it may tell you on the plastic shield over the engine.

the 6 cylinder had multiple issues and recalls for the transmission throughout the 7th generation, requiring replacement or rebuild. There really aren’t any other long term fixes.

The 4 cylinders also experienced some failures but at a fraction of the rate that the 6 cylinders did.

If it’s a 6 cylinder 250,000 miles for that vintage is pretty good life exempting any rebuild or replacement done before or while you owned it.

You may be able to eek some extra miles out of it with fluid drain and fills but it won’t last, if it even helps out at all (which it probably won’t)… maybe just enough to get you into a shop?