Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello Everyone
This is my first post on this site / forum. I’ve been a lurker here for some time now. Im not no mechanic by any means but i do like working on my car and saving money. So here is a little background to my accord and the problem im having. Sorry in advance if this is a long post.

2004 honda accord v6 ex sedan automatic. Mileage 130xxx

I purchased this car maybe 5 years ago from a guy on CL. Car checked out good and drove really good for its age. I was a new driver and never really paid attention to it. Just did little maintenance to it like change oil, change air filters, top up fluids, those kind of stuff. I do 85% city driving and hardly would use highways as my job was near by. As time went by, i noticed my car becomes sluggish to accelerate. When i take my foot off the gas, it bogs down. It picks up speed okay but ive seen videos of other people accord picking up speed way faster than mines with less effort. Its like its struggling to go faster. I have to press the pedal all the way down 100% sometimes to even get some speed.
I noticed I was getting really bad mpg. It kept on dropping even with the new parts installed. According to my calculations i was getting 11-12 mpg!! I had started reading up online what i can do to remedy the situation and did these things below. I didnt do them in the order below.

• Cleaned out the throttle body and map sensor and later then I installed a used low mileage throttle body from another honda and new map sensor
  • installed reman fuel injectors
  • changed spark plugs and coil recently (more on these)
  • changed air filter
  • installed new egr valve
  • installed new pcv valve
  • installed both pre cat o2 sensor
  • increased tire pressure to 40psi