Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone. My name is Stu and I’m new to driveaccord.net. Before creating this Thread I did my best to search the forums to see if anyone else has brought up this topic. In some cases they have, but I guess I’m looking for a more complete answer if that makes sense.

I own a 2008 Honda Accord that I bought new, which now has roughly 48,000 miles on it. Yes, I do a lot of driving! I have the 4 cylinder 2.4 liter iVTEC 190hp engine with a 5 speed manual. Overall, I really enjoy driving my car, but there’s one issue that I need your (anyone that feels qualified to answer) opinion on.

A few months back, my Low Oil Pressure Indicator flashed momentarily. At that time, there were roughly 43,000 miles on the car. After waiting about 10 minutes, I checked the oil and was surprised to find that I was down an entire quart. The dipstick showed no indication of any oil between the low and high level. Yes, I did wipe down the dip stick once before determining that I was low on oil. The ENGINE OIL LIFE display was at 50 or 60%. I can’t remember exactly. Regardless, I added a quart (Castrol SYNTEC 5W-20) and drove the car to Honda the next day.

I typically park my car in a garage at home or in the same spot at work for over 2 years. Neither place showed any signs of leaked oil.
I brought the car to Honda. They told me that there was a leak between the engine and the transmission, so I left the vehicle for 2 days to address the issue.

I got the car back and was told that I would not have a problem again. A few months later, my Low Oil Pressure Indicator flashed again and again I was down an entire quart. The ENGINE OIL LIFE display was at 50 or 60%. I drove the car to Honda, in which they put me on an Oil Consumption Test. I brought my car to Honda every 1000 miles for 3000 miles. They concluded that the oil in which my engine was burning was ‘acceptable’ by their measures.