Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
I am new to the fourms and I have searched but have found nothing more on the 3rd gear issue 08-09 accords are having on manual transmissions. Does it affect 2010 cars?

I am planning to buy a 2010 honda accord coupe EXL. I have a 2003 TL-S Aspec but the auto transmission is done! I live in a downtown city and have been thinking of getting either a manual or automatic EXL. I have driven manual a few times but no expert. So I really need help in making a decision.

Are there any problems with the 2010 auto or manual transmission?

what would you guys suggest?

·
Registered
166 Posts
Well, if you live downtown in a city, I would recommend an auto (if your car is mostly in traffic).

·
Overdrive
618 Posts
If you're only ONLY doing city driving or you'll always be in thick traffic, go with an automatic. Otherwise, go with a manual. I don't do any city driving and I regret not going with a manual.

That being said, the 2011 Accord Coupes will have paddle shifters on the automatics. Perhaps a bit of compromise?

·
Registered
53 Posts
1) The TSB for the 3rd gear issue does not extend to the 2010s.
2) It has been dyno proven that the manual gets about 30 hp more to the wheels. This may be a result of either transmission losses or Honda underrating the engine that mates to the manual. The increased power translates to being a full second quicker in the quarter mile.

As for driving preference, that's up to you. Personally, I'd rather drive the car than have the car drive me.

·
09ACCORDCOUPE
599 Posts
I'm a 6 shifter so I'm biased towards a manual gearbox. However, I agree with the comments above, that if you're going to be driving in city traffic MOST of the time, get an auto tranny. Good luck on your decision my friend.:thmsup:

·
Registered
282 Posts