Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm pretty sure I want a Deck Lid spoiler for my new sedan. I've seen the video at College Hills Honda about how to do it and, truthfully, it doesn't look that hard. But I'm not too crazy about drilling holes in my trunk since I've never done it before.

I'll get to the point. Has anyone ever done a deck lid install and was it that hard to do? I called the dealer where I got my car and they quoted me around $500 for parts and labor (bear in mind that would also include the cost of the spoiler itself). But I'm really not feeling that great about paying as much for labor as I am for the spoiler itself.

Any success/disaster stories out there?

·
Registered
97 Posts
It was easy for me, but then again I am a dentist by profession so my hand skills are pretty decent. Just have to have a steady hand with the drill.

So I'm pretty sure I want a Deck Lid spoiler for my new sedan. I've seen the video at College Hills Honda about how to do it and, truthfully, it doesn't look that hard. But I'm not too crazy about drilling holes in my trunk since I've never done it before.

I'll get to the point. Has anyone ever done a deck lid install and was it that hard to do? I called the dealer where I got my car and they quoted me around $500 for parts and labor (bear in mind that would also include the cost of the spoiler itself). But I'm really not feeling that great about paying as much for labor as I am for the spoiler itself.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I think He's talkin about the 2011 decklid diy instruction not 2010
I was. But some people just have to be a smartass, so...whatever.

The instructions for the 2011 look noticeably different than the 2008-2010 and I'm inclined to just use the center part with the adhesive tape and avoid the hold drilling all together. I'll check out the Honda dealer this weekend and see if there are any deck lids on display.

·