Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I’ve been driving 4 cylinder Accords for 20 years. My current one is an ’04 sedan and I love this car but I’m starting the get the itch to trade it for something newer and a coupe. I won’t drive an auto, and therein lies the problem. The 2008-2010s are in my price range but I’m having a VERY hard time finding any 4 cylinder ones with a manual transmission.
This is causing me to start to consider a 6 cylinder as it seems there are more of those with the 6 speed manual available used. The long term reliability of the 4 CYL is outstanding…the 6 CYL is an unknown for me and I’m hesitant to make the switch.

Any words of advice / wisdom for me?
Thank you.
Regards,
Mark.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Well I have never driven a 4 cylinder Accord, but I have driven 4 cylinder cars in the past. That being said I just purchased an 2012 Coupe V6, and it is a FUN car to drive. I am sure you would seriously enjoy it.

In terms of reliability hopefully someone else can chime in as this is my first Honda, and it only has 20k miles.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Although I am not speaking from experience as I have a 4 cylinder but I would assume the reliability would be the same for the v6 . At the end of the day it is still a Honda and it really just comes down to how you treat your car. Keep us posted

·
08 Accord 5spd
37 Posts
I've test driven both and have a 4cyl...In short, get the V6.

Why? Because the gas mileage isn't that much of a difference between the two. I was set on buying a v6 a few months ago but wasn't able to find a good one at the time price and mileage wise. I only bought my 4cyl because it was a good price, low miles, was certified pre-owned and had everything i wanted but the 6cyl engine. I've noticed that my gas mileage isn't great in the city, but it seems to do really well on the highway.