Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

450 Premium Audio rear speaker/sub signal issues

5K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  Millz1273 
#1 ·
I've been driving a 2019 EX-L for 6 months (since June 2019) and the so called "premium" audio is anything but. The lack of bass has been killing me for a car that is supposed to have a dedicated sub, even if it is a factory weak sub. I was messing around with the fade and balance and noticed the front speakers seem to get much louder than the back at the same volume. When I say much louder there is about 1/4 the volume coming out of the rear speakers and sub compared to the front speakers. For the exact same speakers getting the same power, this seems really odd even if they are mounted differently. Is anyone else experiencing the same thing when you put the fade from all the way front to back?

I suspect that Honda deliberately killed the signal to the rear deck. I suspect this because when I go into the secret menu (power button, Home and source button pressed at the same time and held) the test signal that you can generate seems the same volume from all channels, and the sub actually made a deep rumbling (relative to what it does normally). When the sub had the test signal it actually rattled the whole rear deck, and I suspect this is why Honda may have cut power to these speakers to prevent people complaining. So now they complain about crappy speakers which is more acceptable than a car with rattles. This is all speculation, but would like to hear from others in early 2018 models versus 2019 models with the "premium" audio 450 watt system. It may be possible they changed this from 2018 to 2019.