Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm far from an expert when it comes to A/C work, but I've done a few repairs. A few as in 3 or so, and I've had great luck until this one. My compressor was making a ton of noise on my 06 Accord V6 so I changed the compressor, condenser, expansion valve, and drier. I flushed the rest of the lines and the evaporator. The only things I reused were the lines, the pressure switch as the one on the new condenser had a different plug, and the evaporator core. Once I got it back together I pulled a vacuum on the system and started trying to charge it just using a can of R134A through my A/C gauges on the low side. This is where I ran into a problem. It just doesn't seem like it's sucking the refrigerant in. After about 15 minutes it seemed like it took most of the first 12 oz can. With other cars once I've gotten a little in the compressor has started cycling and then it would pull it in. One this one the compressor won't come on at all. Have any of you run into this issue? Everything seems to be hooked up correctly. Do you think it's something with charging it and should just pay a shop to charge it? Or do you think I have a problem somewhere else?

·
Don't drink and drive
5,187 Posts
Is the AC running on max when you're recharging it? It takes about 15 mins to suck it all in. Patience.

After recharging it, is the AC kicking on and off right away? If it has too much freon, it won't be able to engage. Try releasing some. Check the pressure.

·
Registered
4,663 Posts