Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need your input, about to buy! - Advice for a 6th gen purchase?

Hi everyone, I just found this forum yesterday because I'm in the market to buy a 6th gen accord. I just want to say that you guys have a really really GREAT forum here. I've been on here the past couple days reading everything, and I finally worked up the courage to post a question. Please keep in mind that i'm new to this whole car thing...

I'm a san francisco bay area native that graduated from college a few years back. I'm now headed to michigan for grad school, and I think it's time to leave my inherited brown 224k mile brown camry behind, not to mention that it probably wouldn't be able to make the drive over there. I have $5k-7k to spend on a car that will be able to last me through at least 5 years of grad school, and I've had an affinity for the 6th gen accords for some reason (especially the coupes).

Other than preferring a manual because of the tranny issues, do you guys have any advice for finding the right car? Dealer or craigslist? I'm looking on craigslist and it seems for that price I can get a ~90k mile car, which I'm not sure how great a deal that is. Is KBB a good source?

Thanks for the advice in advance, and I look forward to being a part of this forum when I get my new ride!

EDIT:

Thanks everyone for all the advice you guys have been giving me. I am leaving at the end of this week, so I'm hoping I can finally get my car by tomorrow. Here are (were) my options:

2001 Accord LX Coupe, 5spd - 58k miles
-clean title
-SOLD! The guy committed to selling the car for $6500 cash 15 minutes before I arrived for our appointment to look at/drive the car...

2001 Accord LX Coupe, 5spd - 87k miles
- clean title, 2 owners
- carfax: http://www.carfax.com/viewEmailReport.do?a=KqAXttQxDojahWT2SCZaURISb6%2F81lHlLuisG85Tf5KM0CcVc36YD9bDgDaCTSi3&language=en