Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I've done a bunch of reading and searching prior to posting this. I ordered a set of after market fog lights (for my 14 accord Lx 6 speed sedan) that comes with a relay and an independent switch.

My questions:

1) Where can I wire my relay harness power to? Straight to the battery?

2) the interior switch has to be wired to an "Acc", any pictures of where the "acc" is and how to access it? What about the ground wire? Any suggestions on where to tap that to?

3) Also, where is the firewall to the car? Any pics would be appreciated. (Yes, I'm a noob at this)

Thank you for your anticipated help. I'll likely do a comprehensive write up with pictures once I've installed them so as to help others who endeavour in this project.

·
Registered
745 Posts
1. Yes battery
2. ground goes to bare metal or look for a common grounding point(lots of black wires attached to metal)
3. Firewall is huge chunk of metal between you and the engine. It's like a wall of metal that blocks fire..get it? Lol

·
Registered
23 Posts
Thanks taffeta! Couple of follow ups:

1) Where is the acc that I could use to power the switch? Do I plug into the fuse box somehow? No clue how any of that works. Anyone have any pics?

2) the question I meant to ask is, where in that firewall do I push the wire through? Is it on the driver's side? Also do I need to take the interior paneling off to access the firewall?

Any pics or instructions would be greatly appreciated!

·
Just here for the food
1,873 Posts
Hey, OP! :wave:

Here's a thread with a couple of guys that were asking the same question (about the firewall) and figured it out! -- http://www.driveaccord.net/forums/51-8th-generation/48050-amp-power-cable-through-firewall.html

I was gonna give my own lame explanation but that thread is the summation of everything I wanted to say... albeit accurate and proven correct LOL