Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had my 20’ Accord now for nearly a month and love it! Over this time period I have played with Apple CarPlay on and off. Today was probably the most frustrating experience dealing with CarPlay and maps.

So I’m now traveling to various locations for my job instead of just the one location I’ve been working at for the past 10 years. When I got into my car I brought up google maps and set my new destination in. My phone had me going to the proper location I wanted but on the screen of my car has me going to my old work location. I had to pull over multiple times to fix the issue, and I think I figured it out. I’m thinking that I need to input my destination via the touchscreen of my car and not my phone, but, the route is not highlighted, and sometimes the guidance voice failed to alert me to a turn. I’ll have to keep trying it out to know for sure. Another issue I am having is...

Apparently I can’t use my steering wheel controls to make phone calls anymore. Nope. When I try to, my car displays a msg saying to use my phone app to initiate calls. Great. The problem is, I only have 3 or 4 contacts appearing under contacts list on the touchscreen. If I want to access all of my contacts I need to actually use my phone to find them or unplug it so that my steering wheel controls come back.
This is my first car using CarPlay and, I’m fairly disappointed in how useless this seems to be. But, maybe I’m not using it properly or maybe there’s a setting I’m missing here?

·
^^vv<><>BA
12,229 Posts
I have had my 20’ Accord now for nearly a month....
Maybe something got damaged/knocked loose when you hit that dip in the road with your 20 foot Accord. Maybe try resetting the whole system by disconnect battery cables? 🤷

·
Banned
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3