Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody!

I've been searching the forums to try to piece mail together an answer but I'm having trouble doing so, so please let me know if this is the wrong place or if I'm beating a dead horse.

Straight and Simple:
Is an oil change, tire rotation and multipoint inspection ($50 w/ coupon at dealer by work) the same as taking it in for a B1 service($100 at dealer by home?)

--------------------------------------------

Long convoluted life story question (if you'd care to enlighten me):

I'm at 36k miles. I purchased the car as a certified pre-owned in Oct '12 at 16k miles. B1 light just came on. This is my first time with this maintenance minder in this car. I can change my own oil, I just changed my engine air and cabin air filters a month ago, and I'm capable of rotating my own tires (this would be my first time.)

My concern is that the list includes this:

Replace engine oil and oil filter
Rotate Tires
Inspect front and rear brakes
Check parking brake adjustment
Inspect tie rod ends, steering gear box, and boots
Inspect suspension components
Inspect driveshaft boots
Inspect brake hoses and lines (including ABS)
Inspect all fluid levels and condition of fluids
Inspect exhaust system
Inspect fuel lines and connections

I could also get an oil change, tire rotation, MP Inspection for $50 dollars at the dealership by work, or the B1 at my local dealer for $100. So I'm thinking should I just do what I'm capable of and try to take a look at everything else when it gets warmer? My primary concern is taking care of the brakes. Or should I take it to the dealer for now to be safe since I haven't had any major work done on the car yet? And if so, is there a big difference between the two service options I'm weighing.