Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm a newbie to this forum and never owned an Accord in my life until recently. I wanted a reliable and fun car to drive, did my research, and bought a 2007 Honda Accord LX 4cyl with 55100 miles on it. Prior to purchasing the car, I had it inspected at a third-party mechanic and test drove it for a bit. They looked at the engine, interior, exterior, and underneath the car. Noticed a fair amount of rust but the mechanic said it's not too big of an issue. They gave it a "thumbs up" to purchase. The vehicle was bought for $9100.

A few things I've noticed and would like your input on,

- During idle, the engine purrs and fluctuates (no purr, low purr, no purr, low purr, and so on)

- After getting the wheels balanced and alignment done, I notice a low whirling sound at low speed in correlation to the spinning of the wheels. Told the dealer and they said it could most likely be due to uneven tire wear exposed from the alignment. This sound is pretty hard to hear. I also did the left and right turning test and don't hear anything, so it's probably not the bearings. At high speeds, you won't hear anything.

- After a complete stop and then accelerating again, going from 1st gear to 2nd gear feels like a small struggle. Dealer says this is normal.

Everything else seems fine but I would like your inputs on whether some of the stuff I've mentioned is normal or should get checked out again.

·
Registered
1,683 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

I will be the first to say it, pics or it didn't happen :)!

You made a wise choice bringing a third-party mechanic to inspect it. I did the same with my Accord. I'm not an expert but I'd suggest cleaning the MAF sensor and throttle body to try and fix the idle problem. Possibly replace the air filter if that hasn't been done. Do you know what maintenance has been completed on the car?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4