Drive Accord Honda Forums banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks,

Absolute car noob here, I currently own a 2007 Civic EX, and it has lasted me for a good 15 years and 350k, its going strong but its time to replace it. I was going to get a 2019 2.0L accord (sport or touring) and was doing some research, I expected my maintenance costs to go up considering it was a fancier car but while doing some research I learned this accord has a turbocharged engine, and have learned turbocharged engines are not as reliable. I was wondering if this means that I will have:
  • significantly more expensive maintenance?
  • a car more sensitive to problems?
  • A car that won't last as long?
I really assumed that this accord would also last a nice 15 years and 350+km, like my civic, but its disheartening to know this isn't the case. I would love some clarification,

·
Registered
2010 Honda Accord (LX)
320 Posts
Obviously in reliability a newer Honda won't compare to something like your 07 Civic, but I don't think the 2.0T is known for extreme problems or anything. Of course, it hasn't been around for too long, so there's not as much data on longevity.

Though I wouldn't blame only the turbocharged engine for a lack of reliability. Honda as a whole has gotten less reliable in the past few years.

Reactions: enne

·
↑ ↑ ↓ ↓ ← → ← → B A
10,093 Posts
I really assumed that this accord would also last a nice 15 years and 350+km, like my civic, but its disheartening to know this isn't the case.
Says who?

I was wondering if this means that I will have:
More expensive maintenance? Maybe. Maybe not.

More sensitive to problems? No.

A car that won't last as long? Maybe. Maybe not. Reposting from https://www.driveaccord.net/threads...-87-for-june-2021.500370/page-30#post-6815888: