Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 08 accord coupe ex and i was getting a pioneer avic z2 installed, the installer came ot my house but after he isntalled it the car would turn on for a second then turn off, he changed everything back to stock and the same thing, it would turn on for a second then turn off. please help!

yes it starts for 2 seconds then dies, he installed the pac steering wheel control and backup cam but honda says those have nothing to do with the problem

·
08 Accord V6 Coupe w/ NAV
3,260 Posts
You mean it actually starts then dies? I'm not an expert but that sounds like bad ground somewhere? It doesn't sound like fuse as blown fuse will probably prevent you from even starting the car.

Whatever you do, don't pay the installer!!!!!

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yes it starts for 2 seconds then dies, he installed the pac steering wheel control and backup cam but honda says those have nothing to do with the problem

Please help!

·
Honda Nation
2,184 Posts
There's no telling what he screwed with, but even if he was an amateur at this there's nothing he should have touched in regard to stereo equipment wiring that would have an effect on the car stalling after you start it.

I would advise you not to pay him. And then get his full home address and phone number.

Then call a tow truck and have it towed to your Honda dealer.

Have them check everything out.

And make your installer pay the bill.

·
Reverse Gear
779 Posts
Immobilizer maybe? I do not know how but he could have messed the wire up some how or something.

When it dies do the lights on the dash stay on? Or do they turn off?

·
Leased a VW_My life ****s
2,105 Posts
Sounds like something is wrong with the immobilizer. I don't know how/why a stereo install would mess with the electrical systems involved with the car starting, however, you need to re-link the keys to the immobilizer (have them reprogrammed).