Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been doing a lot of research about installing a double din head unit in my Accord and have come across various threads with different projects. I definitely don't like any of the kits (including the new Metra, which I think looks cheap). I've seen some folks cut out a a double din slot in the original bezel, which is the route I'm thinking about going.

I'm going to let a shop do this since I have no experience and will ultimately end up screwing it up. There is a guy who does nice custom bezels. He quoted me $250, but that's for the bezel only. I'll go to a shop this week and see what they say.

I'd like to make this look as stock as possible. Even with a custom bezel, I will still be left with the huge power/volume knob. Does anyone know if this can be wired into an aftermarket head unit? If not, could it be wired into another Honda head unit (I was looking at one of the current gen Civic nav systems)?

After reading several reviews, it seems like the aftermarket Nav systems aren't that great. I've found some older threads on this but a lot of images have been removed. I'd appreciate any advice, diagrams, pictures that would aid me. FYI I have an 03 Accord Coupe with single zone climate control.

Thanks!

·
3rd Gear Roll
23 Posts
I s thinking about going the same route. I'd do it myself and hope I don't screw up lol. I'd still want to keep the factory wheel controls but I'm not sure if that's possible... I want to keep the storage bin and I the metra kit is way over priced so DIY it is

·
2008 Honda Accord V6 EX-L
674 Posts
I attempted this a long time ago. its possible. Just a lot of work. Take a lot of pictures along the way. Good Luck can't wait to see finish product. :)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·