Drive Accord Honda Forums banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Well I got 4 quarts of HCF-2 from my local dealer to the tune of $11.55 a piece total of $49 out the door. The crush washer was $3.50, parts guys says it's magnesium and made in Japan. I skipped that and flipped my old one over. Over all a very easy drain and fill the instructions are posted on here and easy to follow. I am no novice to this type of work and am not naive enough to judge fluid quality based on color alone but the oil that came out was dark and smelled horrible. Pics below.

Old fluid.

New fluid

Didn't shift bad before just that lurch on deceleration no shudders either. Drove nice on the test drive. I drive 500 miles a week so Ill be able to tell pretty quick if it's better or the same. For me it was worth the $50 and an hour of my life to swap out the old fluid if only for the piece of mind.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My plug had some paste to it but not enough to worry about. I will end up doing a drain and fill every 25000 too which ends up being yearly for me. I bought mine with 15000 on it already in Sept so this was a catch up change for me.

Any plans to get an oil analysis done for it? Curious what the #'s are for it at 25,000 miles.
Wasn't planning on it since the book says every 25000 in certain conditions I figured it was a good time to do it.

·
Banned
784 Posts
My plug had some paste to it but not enough to worry about. I will end up doing a drain and fill every 25000 too which ends up being yearly for me. I bought mine with 15000 on it already in Sept so this was a catch up change for me.
Your old CVT fluid is very dark and that would concern me if it were my car as previous owner may have beat the crap out of the car. Following MM may not be a good idea on CVT fluid - 60K miles for first change is a bit too risky.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·