Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Did the dashcam install earlier this week by using a fuse-tap & accessory/cigarette-lighter adapter holder. I wired the dashcam for ignition power, so I am not sure which fuse location you can use if you're looking for a constant power source. I'm not a professional installer, so if there are any mistakes please let me know; I will appreciate it.

Note: Point of reference is from the view-point of looking up at the fuse-panel.
Procedure:
- Connect the red wire of the adapter holder to the fuse-tap by crimping it. Plug in the fuse to the top slot and verify with a multimeter that there is an electrical connection from the left blade of the tap to the center of the holder.
- Clean the area of the windshield to mount the dashcam with isopropyl alcohol prior to attaching it.
- Run the wire by inserting it into the headliner, to the A-pillar.
- Tuck the wire beneath the A-pillar cover, to the door rubber seal.
- Then tuck the wire under the rubber seal, and run it all the way down until it reaches the area below the steering wheel.
- Re-position the driver seat and seatback, and steering wheel position, so that you can access the interior fuse panel located underneath the steering wheel. Essentially you will need to be partially upside-down looking up at the fuse panel.
- Plug the dashcam adapter into the adapter holder, and insert the fuse tap into location #45 (thanks to Jhold, from the Wiring radar detector and dashcam ... thread). Note the orientation of the tap, as the left side is hot. Alternatively you can also use #47 but the hot lead is on the right side.
- Now you will need to locate a good electrical ground to attach your return (black) wire. I picked the bracket with a small hole near the panel, and decided to use a nut & bolt to secure it. However, due to the restrictive space, this turned out to be more difficult that I anticipated & was quite time-consuming.