Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm getting ready to do the timing belt on my 2005 Accord EX. Its got 122K miles on it and hasnt had the TB done. I've never done a TB before but have been doing basic maintenance on my cars for quite a while and am not super concerned about tackling this job.

I realize the crank bolt is going to be a massive pain and am currently soaking it in liquid wrench every night for the week. I have the 50mm Honda crank tool on order as well as 3/4" 40 in breaker bar and some 3/4" extensions.

I also have an OEM Timing Belt kit on order that comes with the water pump, tensioner, belt, and idlers.

Assuming I am able to get the crank pulley bolt free, I have all the other tools necessary to get the job done.

However, my main concern is setting the timing right. I've looked at a couple of DIY videos/writeups and even the factory service manual and am a bit confused as to getting and maintaining TDC during the TB change.

So my understanding is that if the crank pulley is lined up at the TDC marking on the engine block, the front cam gear will show a "1" through the portal on the plastic cover, correct?

Is it then necessary to also check the rear cam? Basically, Im asking if its possible for the crank and the front cam to be at TDC and NOT have the rear cam at TDC? Once the crank is at TDC and one cam shows TDC, the other will have the same reading on it, correct?

Now another concern of mine is that I've read that the rear cam has a tendency to walk when it is at TDC and the TB is removed. If this happens, what is the appropriate way to remedy the situation and bring everything back to TDC - do you just physically spin the cam back to TDC?

If anyone would care to walk through the process of setting the timing potato head style, I would appreciate it.

Thanks all! :thmsup:

·
Registered
840 Posts