Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Total noob here, mechanically speaking. I want to learn to work on my car myself, but I've never even picked up a wrench before!
How did you guys get started doing your own work on your cars? And is it just a side hobby for you, or a whole career? :)

·
Super Moderator
4,204 Posts
Watch YouTube videos to learn what you want to do. Get a set of basic mechanic tools to get you started.

There are some members here who are professional mechanics but most people like myself just do to save money or for the satisfaction of DIY or some just don't trust others touching their cars. There are good write-ups on the site, You can go through them just to get ideas on how things are done.

·
HK Moderator
13,902 Posts
How did you guys get started doing your own work on your cars?
Mom got ripped off by a Chevy dealership service department. I got into a fight with the service guy, knocked him down and beat him good. Mom screamed. I got arrested. I was 15. Juvy judge had me paint fire hydrants all summer. Retired mechanic dude in courtroom gave me a giant repair manual.

·
Runnin' in the 90s
5,995 Posts
I started working on my own cars out of necessity. First was changing the battery in my mom's 2001 Ford Explorer by myself. Headlight bulbs in the family minivan, etc. Then I got my first car, and my dad and I worked on it together (my dad has been a mechanic for many years). He taught me how to change spark plugs, change the oil and air filter, jack up the car and take the wheels off, and other basic maintenance items. So I can do that kind of stuff on my own, when the weather permits and I have a place to actually do it.