Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I want to remove the exhaust tips on my 2003 EX, but the screws are rusted. Has anybody been in this situation and figured out a way to get them off? Any help is appreciated!

·
No longer active
702 Posts
Lots of penetrating fluid (WD40) should help. If you get really frustrated, grind them off....

·
All VTEC. All the time.
465 Posts
PB Blaster FTW!

·
No longer active
702 Posts
I've already tried PB Blaster and WD40....what would I have to replace if I grind them off?
Probably just the screws (if you are careful). The idea is to grind off the heads, pull the tips off, then poke the screws out (or twist them out using a needle nose pliers).
I'm no expert, just trying to get you started. Maybe someone else could explain better.

·
"Life In The Slow Lane"
2,111 Posts
Vise-Grips may do it-

·
lookin' clean
671 Posts
I snapped my hex head. if that happens you have to drill out and retap. I was going to put one of the new 08 model tips on till I snapped my bolt.

·
lookin' clean
671 Posts
What do you mean by retap it?
cut new threads into the hole so you can fit a screw thru it. Generally when you drill out a bolt you drill out the threads too.

·
Registered
42 Posts
take a drill bit that is signifigantly smaller than the bolt shaft size and drill all the way through the bolt.

Then keep going up a size until there is no bolt left.

then tap the hole.

buy a new bigger bolt

and profit.

·
Low Gear
2,935 Posts
take a drill bit that is signifigantly smaller than the bolt shaft size and drill all the way through the bolt.

Then keep going up a size until there is no bolt left.

then tap the hole.

buy a new bigger bolt

and profit.
Not to hijack the thread, but I never done that before. Are normal drill bits strong enough to drill a bolt? I would assume a bolt is solid metal.

·
Go Gators!
133 Posts