Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I am looking to get a different car soon. I been looking at the 8th gen Accord EX-L sedans with the V6. I have owned nothing but GM vehicles in the past, and I want to try something else. So I am new to Honda's and what kind of maintenance is needed on them.

I found one that I am going to look at next week. It is a 2008 Accord EX-L V6, Charcoal color with black leather, sunroof, standard EX-L options without the navigation, and fairly new tires. The car has 77,000 miles on it and they are asking $14,000, but I am going to try and talk them down more. What is a good price for this car, assuming everything is in clean shape and there are no issues (wrecks, repaints, dents, etc.)?

Is there any kind of normal Honda maintenance that should have been performed on this vehicle with 77,000 miles (transmission fluid change, etc.)? What kind of maintenance should I expect to have to do to it soon? When should the timing belt be replaced?

I was looking at Acura TLs prior, and I have heard that with them transmission problems are not uncommon with the 2nd and 3rd gen TLs. That was a big turn off for me. Is this the case with the 8th gen V6 Accords, and do they use the same transmission? Do these Accords also need to have valve adjustment like the TLs?

·
Registered
327 Posts
Lets see...

Engine defect lawsuit:

http://www.topclassactions.com/laws...-honda-accord-oil-defect-class-action-lawsuit

Brake lawsuit:

http://www.accordsettlement.com/

Recalls:

http://www.carcomplaints.com/Honda/Accord/2008/recalls/

A host of non-lawsuit issues, many that I had them fix (Some under warranty, some not). This vehicle gets the dubious honor of the "Avoid like a plague" stamp from carcomplaints.

http://www.carcomplaints.com/top_vehicles/