Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just bought my '13 Honda Accord Sport a couple months ago. It has a manual transmission. Anyone else feel that the gear box is a bit knotchy?

·
PLATINUM PLAYER
82 Posts
hmm no it's pretty smooth for a Honda

nothing like my Audi but pretty acceptable for a Honda

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thing is, I test drove it at another dealer before buying the one I had. Mine had 50 miles on it when I bought it, and I only drove it around the parking lot so my wife could see it. Is it possible that whomever drove it for 50 miles might have screwed the tranny or gear box? My previous car was an Acura RSX Type-S, and it too was knotchy when shifting. Maybe it's just Honda's manual tranny's? I've been driving manual cars since 1995, but I've been pretty annoyed with the way my two most recent cars shift.

hmm no it's pretty smooth for a Honda

nothing like my Audi but pretty acceptable for a Honda
It feels smooth for the most part, but knotchy here and there. It's only with the first 3 gears. No problems whatsoever with the higher gears. My Acura had the same problem with 1st and 3rd gear.

·
Registered
317 Posts
It's not THAT notchy.. I feel it most often going to 3rd and 5th..not as smooth as my 94 Civic from back in the day but nothing major, imo. Maybe it's my driving?

·
Registered
72 Posts
Two things:

First: here's what Car & Driver just said about their long term 6MT Sport:

"It is among the best manual transmissions extant, with short throws, direct paths between the gears, and a fluidity to the shifts that not only makes us happy each and every time we have reason to exercise the clutch, but also reveals the secret genius of the Accord."

Second: what's wrong with first gear? You certainly can't be putting it back in there before you're stopped, can you?

I'm guessing you need to take it in for service or reexamine your technique.