Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I like some of the DIY show the tools and parts used.
Lets say I have almost none...not even a jack yet.
I'm going to Sears or I'd prefer online shopping.
please forgive me I'm not good with tool names yet.
Can anyone help get me started with:
Pads/Rotors/calipers install (clamp, should i buy an electric socket gun for wheel removal?)
Brake fluid (flushing and bleed tool?)
throttle plenum
routine inspections
spark plugs suggestion?
I see these big mechanics tool kits..that seems a bit much for one or 2 specific cars.
I see special tool#s in the honda manual. Do i need some of those?

·
Registered
2,860 Posts
okay you will need a floor jack, jack stand, socket and wench set, breaker bar, tq wench, flare wench to do the brakes, and gloves.

·
7th Gear
4,887 Posts
Ramps
set of Box end wrenches
Screwdriver set

·
Registered
44 Posts
3/8" drive ratchet with both a long and short extension. Basic metric socket set to go along with it, both deepwell and normal depth sockets. I can't remember what size socket you'll need for the brake caliper bolts, but it'll likely be 12mm. If your socket set ranges from 8mm - 18mm you should pretty much cover all of your bases.

·
Old Bird...sometimes wise
13,915 Posts
Spark Plugs are iridium tipped and will last in excess of 100,000 miles. Denso or NGK would be the brands to look for.

·
Registered
231 Posts
Buy a basic tool set that includes 1/4", 3/8", 1/2" sockets and ratchets, along with varity of wrenches and screwdrivers. I have a Craftsman catalog right next to me, 009-34260 is a nice basic kit. Jack and jack stands are nice. If you plan on doing your own brakes(rotors) you will need an impact driver to remove the screws. Also a decent c clamp for squeezing in the calipers. Feel free to ask about specific tools, I work on a lot of Hondas/Acuras.

·
1,927 Posts