Drive Accord Honda Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Tampa FL
373 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So Honda is not offering the V6 with the 6MT on a sedan.

So I was thinking it would be cool to swap one in. of course, in a few years when it is less expensive to do so, and all of the warranties have expired.

Does anyone know if there are any mayor differences that would make this hard?

I would love a V6 Sport with the 6MT (I need the 4 doors so a coupe was out of the question)

just thinking out loud here :naughty:

·
Registered
916 Posts
Probably a lot easier to swap the transmission than the whole engine. Then throw on the sport wheels and trunk lip.

Gonna cost a lot of money though - probably more than buying the V-6 coupe and renting something larger when you need it.

·
Registered
4,223 Posts
I'm not a mechanic but you would have to bring lots of money. A new engine is very expensive and who knows what a used one would be like. The current CVT transmission was not designed to be mated to a V6 so that might not work at all. Plus the amount of rework required to do this job would cost more than just buying two new cars. A Coupe V6 for fun and a V6 Or I4 sedan for the tomes you need more room. Both would have warranties.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Could've had a V6.

:)

·
Basque Red Fury
1,046 Posts
It would still likely be cheaper to install your own turbo even if you have a shop give you a deep discount labor. Not to mention far more reliable than messing with the transmission. Might get similar output to V6

·
Tampa FL
373 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
You could try to find a Canadian V6 Touring 6MT. I test drove one a few months ago; lots of fun.
No idea Canada had a V6 sedan with a manual transmission.

·
Registered
492 Posts
Not financially reasonable or sound to do so. Also to drop the V6 into the engine bay requires more than just an engine swap.

·
6MT JUNKIE
719 Posts
No idea Canada had a V6 sedan with a manual transmission.