Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question for all you gearheads. Is there an actual difference in these engines, or is it just that when they test them in the factory the Z3 is stable at higher RPMs, so they set it to a higher redline than the Z2, and the additional power over the Z2 is only produced at these higher RPMs? If you look at the horsepower and torque curves of these 2 engines, would they be identical other than the fact that the Z2 stops at 6800 RPM?

I work with computers for a living and this is EXACTLY how many different speeds/price levels of processors are created. For a given "family" of processors they are all manufactured in the same way, and then tested to see how fast they can run and labeled appropriately after that.

No ideas from anyone or did I just post this in the wrong section of the forum? The K24Z3 is the engine found in the non-V6 EX and EX-L and it's rated to have 190hp and redlines at 7100 rpm. The K24Z2 is the engine in the LX and LX-P and it's rated to have 177hp and redlines at 6800 rpm. I left all that information out of my first post because I assumed that anyone replying would already know all that.

·
6th Gear
966 Posts
Honestly I don't know and I have not researched this, but I am going to pull an answer out of thin air and say the z3 w/ 190hp is faster than the z2 with 177hp.

I don't know what the difference is between these two engines as far as design goes, or tuning. My best guess is the z3 is more performance-oriented, and from what I have read online on other websites it is the faster of the two engines.

the z2 is still a good engine, being Honda and all, but probably not as performance-oriented. Overall they are most likely the exact same engines, just tuned to operate differently.

·
Registered
15 Posts