Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello! I am a newbie from Buenos Aires, Argentina here, just got my license and hopefully I'll soon get my hands on this car.
It's a 2006 V6 AT with 80k miles and it's always been serviced at a Honda dealership and looks clean, the belt/pump were replaced at 62k.
The owner is asking 5800usd for it.

Do you guys think it's worth it? Or should I look for a newer one? A 2011 accord i4 in similar condition is around 3k usd more.
Ideally I'd like to get 5 years out of it without much trouble.

Thanks!

Screenshot_20210427-083539_Mercado Libre.jpg Screenshot_20210427-083545_Mercado Libre.jpg Screenshot_20210427-083555_Mercado Libre.jpg Screenshot_20210427-083608_Mercado Libre.jpg Screenshot_20210427-083639_Mercado Libre.jpg Screenshot_20210427-083647_Mercado Libre.jpg

·
Registered
4,208 Posts
I would look for a low mileage I-4, something newer but it depends on what you can afford.

·
Gearhead Girl 🤟
655 Posts
Congrats on getting your license!

For the V6 model, does the seller have maintenance records pertaining to the transmission? The 7th gen V6 automatic transmissions generally weren't that great.
Personally, I'd go for the 2011 I-4, but I'm also biased since I have a 2010. The 8th gen I-4 models can eat oil, but that's been made less common for 2011 and 2012. Their transmissions are pretty good, as long as you take care of them.

Also keep in mind that a 2011 I-4 has a timing chain (which you only need to replace if it breaks), while you'll have to replace the timing belt and water pump every so often in the 2006 V6. Not sure if that'll be a deciding factor for you.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Congrats on getting your license!
thanks! 😀

The 2012 i4 (8300 usd) has 86k miles, it has no records though.

The 2006 V6 has all the records from the Honda dealership, I'm not sure if anything was done to the transmission, I'll ask.