Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All right. So I'm fairly new to the Honda line of engines. I know the basics, but I'm having ideas leading into the little more advanced now, so imma get second opinions. I have a 97 accord with the F22B1 V-TEC. The engine is getting very worn down, and I'm looking at possibly replacing it, along with the transmission. The engine I'm looking at purchasing and swapping in is a B18C1, with matching transmission and ecu from a 96 Ish Integra Type R. From the research i did earlier, swapping these into Civics is a fairly common and easy thing to do. Now i know civics and accords aren't RADICALLY different, but would it be fairly simple to swap one of these engines into my accord, or is the accord different enough in the engine bay department, that it would be more difficult? Im trying to find more information on this kind of swap, and just how difficult it would be, but all i can find is thousands of articles and videos on putting them in civics. Is it even possible? It seems like it, IMO, but as i said, i want second opinions lol. Thanks in advance for y'alls time ^_^

·
Registered
72 Posts
Honestly, a B18C1 in an Accord would be a HORRIBLE idea. First of all, the B18C1 is a lower displacement engine with less torque, and was intended to be used a smaller and lighter vehicle. If you try to use this engine in a heavy Accord, you will just end up with a sluggish car - 1.8 liters in 3000lb just isn’t the stuff dreams are made of.

Another issue is going to be mounting. Although there are certain similarities between Accords and Civics/Integras, the two platforms are different enough that the B18C1 is NOT going to be a straight drop-in swap for an Accord. Not only that, but because the B18C1 is not a desirable motor for an Accord, nobody makes a mount kit to facilitate this swap. This swap would require lots of custom fabrication. All for a motor that doesn’t belong in an Accord.