Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I was trying to fix a little scratch that got to the metal of the car.

I used bondo to fill in the little holes and sand it. Primed it, painted, then clear coat it.

I am not very experienced and sorta messed up the job. When I sprayed the primer, I covered more area than I had to. So to fix that, I went and paint over where I had primer on. Basically now, there are paint and little bit of primer on top of my factory clear coat.

How can I get the paint off without hurting the factory clear coat? So far, I've tried 1500 grit wet sand on a small area and it seems like it's taking some of the paint off as I can see the factory clear coat starting to show in spots.

Should I go lower? Like 1000?

·
Registered
509 Posts
you mean you have overspray on other parts of your car? if compound or clay won't take it off you can try a little bit of thinner and wash it off right after

·
Car so nice, bought twice
4,708 Posts
you mean you have overspray on other parts of your car? if compound or clay won't take it off you can try a little bit of thinner and wash it off right after
This. Your factory paint is going to be stuck on way harder than overspray.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I assume you mean rubbing compound?

I tried the clay but I see no progression on the car other than on the clay.

I also want to mention that the overspray have been sitting for some months now.

·
Registered
509 Posts
I assume you mean rubbing compound?

I tried the clay but I see no progression on the car other than on the clay.

I also want to mention that the overspray have been sitting for some months now.
if it's been sitting that long thinner might not work. only other option would be wet sanding.

·
Reflections Auto Detail
1,247 Posts