Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, for the last few weeks, I've been having some trouble with my car. It feels like it's been very slightly giving me less power here and there, kind of quickly in and out, if that makes any sense? I'm not a mechanic and definitely not a writer so, it is difficult to explain.

I've been super busy and haven't had time to run by the shop. I purchased my car abut 8,000 miles ago from a mom and pop dealer that I have purchased cars from in the past and are very good trustworthy people. I did all the proper research on the car before purchasing and came up to be a great find/buy. I have had no problems with my car besides a dead battery due to a involuntary accessory draining power. Replaced the battery and fixed the problem.

Well, today my 80,000 mile 2005 accord sedan V6 AT engine light came on. I rushed over to the shop and they plugged her in, the quick diagnosis(I had to get back to work, and they were swamped) was that the 1st and 5th cylinders were misfiring. My mechanic seemed concerned and I will be dropping it off Monday but until then, I am wondering if any of you fine, mechanically inclined, DA members, may have some insight to what is going on...:dunno:

Thanks for your time!:thmsup:

·
Registered
176 Posts
Probably one or all of the following.

Plus, coils, bad gas.

·
Stayin Classy...
630 Posts
Cheap things to replace/check:
1. Plugs
2. Fuel filter
3. PCV valve
4. Clean MAP sensor
5. New air filter

Things to look for:
1. Radiator fluid in your oil
2. Black carbon in your radiator fluid (overfill tank)
3. White smoke from exhaust (due to oil burning)