Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know there are countless threads but its time to change my rotors and pads.
Im a budget and want to get halfway decent ones that will last some time and of course have good perfoance. Advanced auto parts has nice coupons like 50 dollars off purchases over 100. Can you guys locate me a nice pair of rotors and pads for my 2004 accords ex. Need rotors for front and back and pads for both front and back.

Thank you

·
Banned
13,101 Posts
I've done three full brake jobs (and I am NOT a mechanic) on Accords this year. All three got Brakemotive's package deal for about $150 delivered. They are HQ'd in Chicago but mostly sell on eBay.

Rotors are cross-drilled and slotted, pads are ceramic- (I wanted a little bling as my wheels are Acura RSX wheels and really show the rotors and calipers). The "oldest" has 12,000 miles on them and they still perform beautifully- provided you bleed the brakes with Honda fluid too.

But Advance, Pep Boys (hate their website), NAPA, Autozone and O'Reilly's all have rotors and pads with lifetime warranty- and cheaper too. You will have many suggestions in the morning....

One thing I like is that the rotors I ordered are zinc-plated which means no more rust on the "air vane" of the rotor. Ceramic pads means less dust compared to semi-metallic.

I am actually pulling mine tomorrow (checking on effects of Permatex purple ceramic extreme brake parts lubricant on the top slider's little rubber bush) and will take photos....make sure you use proper lube on the slider pins- not "grease".

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've done three full brake jobs (and I am NOT a mechanic) on Accords this year. All three got Brakemotive's package deal for about $150 delivered. They are HQ'd in Chicago but mostly sell on eBay.