Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Crystal Black Pearle Accord Touring
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last week the check engine light came on, along with the vas light, and the car drove like crap. I found out spark plug 2, the electrode had broken. I got it replaced with NGK iridium plugs but my concern is, plug 2 was completely gunky. The other 5 were not gunky. You could actually see the white on the electrode. I would expect all to be at least some what the same gunky. Why would plug 2 be so much more gunky than the other 5?

·
2010 Honda Accord EX
606 Posts
I'm no mechanic, but my guess would be due to the fuel in that cylinder not igniting.

Scott C.

·
Registered
4,649 Posts
I would say that if that spark plug was not firing correctly that it would be covered in unburned fuel and carbon. At this point if it is running good now and the code is gone you could check the spark plugs now to see if the all look similar.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The blowby on plug 2 and this:
IMG_1099.jpg

IMG_1100.jpg

Should i be worried? I did not smell this.... I will go outside and see if this is oil

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I will go outside and see if this is oil
This was "soot" like when I rubbed it with my finger. At that time it did not smell like oil or gas.

Maybe it is running lean? When I cold start the car, it smokes. The color of smoke is white-ish. When the car is warm and idling, it smokes. The smoke is the same color as a cold start. I expect the smoke at a cold start but not when warm and idling. Could it be running lean?

·
2010 Honda Accord EX
606 Posts
This was "soot" like when I rubbed it with my finger. At that time it did not smell like oil or gas.