Drive Accord Honda Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2006 Accord EX MT6 and get terrible tread life on my tires. I am a conservative driver. I usually shift at 2400 rpm to prevent the VTEC from kicking in. I live in Prescott, Arizona. This is not a hot climate.

The tires have always worn evenly down to the carcass. I usually buy 60k to 80k tread warranty tires: Michelins, Continentals or Yokos. I am lucky to get 60% of the warranty mileage out of them before they are worn out.

Am I the only one with this problem? If you get better tread life, what tires are you running?

·
Super Moderator
7,853 Posts
No issues with my car, look for high wear rating index such as 500 and up if you are looking for longevity.

Minor suspension misalignment can still wear tires down fast but show even wear, toe setting is one such factor, since excessive toe in or out will cause the tire to scrub rather than roll as the car moves forward, therefore causing additional and unnecessary wear.

·
I <3 My Honda
3,243 Posts
Let's start off with the basics...

What year/trim is your Accord & what size wheels (i.e. 15", 16", 17"), and what brand/model/size of tire are you running (i.e. Michelin MXM4 215/50R17)?

How are you measuring, with an actual tire tread depth gauge?

A tire is considered bald at 2/32nd (at least here in PA that is the "failure point" for state inspections). I, too, run Michelin and Continentals and have always had good luck with long tire life. One of the most important factors is ensuring that your alignment is within OEM spec. One of the best things to do is to buy an unlimited alignment package which you can find at NTB, FireStone, etc.