Drive Accord Honda Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, this is embarrassing. I drive a 2003 LX coupe with 4cyl and just over 100k miles. I replaced the starter today. No issue there, she cranked right up. However, the engine is running rough, and the exhaust contains some white smoke/steam. :thumbsdow I know a little coolant splashed into the throttle body when I disconnected the two lines that attach to it, but I didn't think it would be enough to cause an issue. I doubt it was more than 2 oz of fluid, probably not even that much.

So, do I have to remove the intake again to clean the water out? Just let it run until it clears? Any other ideas? What's the worst that could happen from running a volume of coolant this small through the combustion chambers?

Thanks in advance. This is my first post, but I've been using the info here for a couple of years to do various things on this car. Next up is replacing the door lock actuators, driver side first. I appreciate the free help from people more knowledgeable than I. :notworthy

·
Super Moderator
7,853 Posts
2 oz of coolant should be burnt through the system by now.

The worst case is if all 2 oz of impressible coolant all got in one cylinder to cause a hydro-lock to bend the connecting rod, but that is not going to happen with just 2 oz of coolant which would have been spread out to all cylinders.

Did you disconnect the battery to replace the starter? Maybe the car just needs a good run to get all the sensors calibrated again.

As for the "some white smoke/steam", it's probably just from ambient temperature getting cold this time of the year.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·