Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been driving my 2004 Honda Accord Couple 4cyl for 3 months now. I bought it at 110K miles and I'm at 116K now. The owner's manual says to change the transmission fluid at 120,000 miles, and after reading up on numerous tranny failures among seventh gen accords I decided to do mine a bit early. When I checked the fluid before taking it in it looked sort of on the brownish side with a pink tint anyway. Before I took it the car was running smoothly, no leaks, no burning fluids, no noticeable issues.

I put maybe 300 miles since (one week) and last night I noticed that first gear was stuttering a bit so I took it home. When I went in the garage this morning there was a giant puddle of transmission fluid on the ground underneath the front end. It wasn't leaking anymore though. I took it for a spin around the block to try and replicate the leak and sure enough it started dripping from a couple different spots underneath the transmission when I parked it again.

Any reason why it would be leaking so profusely right after a drain and fill? Is it possible that the mechanic botched something or more likely that the transmission is reacting poorly to the d&f? I can't bring it back in until tomorrow but I don't know how much I can trust the mechanic after this. I've only ever done oil changes with him before.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Sorry to hear that.

Yes, there are several ways it can be meshed up. For example: 1) He overtorqued (air tool) and destroyed the threading on the case 2) He undertorqued (not tight enough) 3) He didn't use a new washer or left debris on the mating surfaces 4) He knocked the case and made a dent (happened to me).

Have you checked whether the bolts have been properly torqued?

I wouldn't drive the car with low transmission fluid.

·
Registered
3,116 Posts
why would you pay someone to do a drain and fill? It's the easiest thing to do.