Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I currently drive a 2019 Honda Accord Sport 2.0T with a MT. I'm still a learner manual transmission driver with about 6000 km driving standard.

I can shift smoothly between gears except going from 1st to 2nd.

After some experimentation, I found two ways to make it smooth, but they seem wrong:
  • While transitioning from first to second, apply a tiny bit of throttle.
  • Let the RPM drop dramatically until it matches second gear. However, that results in the car slowing down.
I let out the clutch very smoothly.

How can I ensure a smooth transition?

Thanks!

·
Registered
397 Posts
I do it by continuing to give it gas momentarily as I push in the clutch to go from 1st to second. That way the RPM hangs a bit while you shift and by the time you're in gear and beginning to let off the clutch, the rpm's are dropping down to the match 2nd.

It just takes some practice either way.

·
Honda Enthusiast
2017 CR2 Sport 6MT CBP
2,688 Posts
I just gave up on getting smooth shifts. I just pull the lever in and out of gear with no care.

·
Registered
1,554 Posts
How can I ensure a smooth transition?
There is one more thing you can try other than the obvious git gud; Double clutch, which is how you shift with a transmission that does not have synchros. You will see it helps, but gets boring soon and you will go back to your old ways because this is real life, and there are drivers behind you who don't know what a transmission is.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Change to Amsoil for your transmission. Do a search for the benefits and user experience after draining Honda manual transmission fluid (which is very good) and refilling with Amsoil synchro transmission fluid. You'll find a lot of Honda owners have made the switch after dealing with shifting issues and report good results.

·
Registered
1,273 Posts