Drive Accord Honda Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks,

This is my first time posting on these forums so please pardon me if my question is posted in the wrong thread.

I have a Honda Accord 2000 2 LI I4 4 DR SE Sedan purchased in Canada about 2 years ago. Recently, during a visit to NY, I decided to stop for a diagnostics at a Honda Dealership for humming noise coming from the front of the car (suspecting a ball bearing on either of the front wheels). The technician investigated the problem and found the following problems:

1. Original Timing Belt, water pump and hoses.
2. Most likely transmission fluid that was not replaced a long time (the fluid was dark and watery)
3. Damaged (but far from complete failure) front left wheel ball bearing.

I have asked for the first 2 items to be replaced/serviced and went on my way back to Canada.

About half-way through my trip, I started hearing a loud grinding noise coming from the front of the car, initially dull but later the noise increased in intensity. I also noticed that when idle, the RPM would ramp up to a constant 4000 (decreasing to 3000 RPM when in motion) and a vibration in the gas pedal was noticed when accelerating. The vibration would propagate to the rest of the car and the grinding noise became unbearable.

I went to a Honda dealership in Canada and they said that Timing Belt was fine, but there was 1 Liter more of transmission fluid. They drained some of the fluid and noted that if the problem persists they think it would be because the car has a faulty transmission. After they fixed the transmission fluid level issue, the idle and in-motion RPM decreased a bit, but the loud noise and the vibration in the entire car still persists.