Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
CD5 to CR2
233 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

First of all, I just want to apologize as I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to modding. I did some searching but I couldn't find anything specific on resonators for our cars (I have a Sport CVT). I recently installed the Takeda axle back and while I do love the sound it produces, the mild drone/vibration around the 2-2.5k rpm range is getting a bit annoying. Should this be expected with aftermarket exhausts? This is my first one so I'm not exactly an expert. Maybe I'm just getting old?

My question is, will installing an aftermarket resonator help reduce/remove this drone? And if so, which one should I be looking at? I've heard Vibrant is a good brand, I just don't know which model is best for our 9th.

I'm this close to selling this exhaust and throwing the stock one back on. But I do love the looks and sound of the Takeda and I was just wondering if there's anything I can do to reduce the cabin vibrations.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. I've read other opinions on other forums but I was just wondering if anyone had some first hand knowledge.

Thanks,
-Dilla

·
Registered
168 Posts
Don't bother. Just a personal opinion and maybe I'm getting old too, but no resonator or anything else will fix this Takeda BS. I installed a Takeda catback on a 2012 V6 coupe and the drone makes my ears bleed, lol. After testing various as well as multiple resonators nothing fixes the drone problem... Even sound damping like Dynomat in the trunk and cabin won't fix it.

I resolved it installing an ATLP Quad-Tip Performance Exhaust System, now it's sweet as hell.. Luck with it...

·
Registered
48 Posts