Drive Accord Honda Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The 2021 Accords now have wireless CarPlay. Do you think we can get this on our cars with a software update?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Now that the 8 Inch infotainment system is standard on LX, do you think I could upgrade my base 2020 hybrids infotainment system to the 8 inch infotainment?

·
Registered
2020 Accord Touring 2.0
8 Posts
I doubt it will happen, but I really hope getting wireless CarPlay is just a software update. If not, I’d like to find out what it would take to add the feature to my 2020 (replace the head unit with a 2021 version, etc.)

·
Registered
114 Posts
I'm a computer engineer, so maybe my experience will be a little insightful on this topic. From my understanding, wireless CarPlay requires a least a Bluetooth and Wi-Fi chip (in the car and obviously the phone) to be able to send the video and audio from the phone to the head unit. (Bluetooth is likely much too slow for more than establishing a close range connection, called a "handshake".) Secondly, you need a powerful enough system to decode and display the video and audio with reasonable speed and responsiveness.

My EX-L's head unit definitely has Bluetooth and Wi-Fi (though I've heard the base model may not). And because the head unit runs a reasonably modern version of Android OS, and does so very responsively, I would venture to say that the processing speed is probably adequate by a large margin.

So I think any 10th gen built before MY2021 with the Android head unit DOES have everything it needs to support wireless CarPlay. Couple that with the fact that, unlike older head units, this system is much more easily updated (thanks to Android OS), and assuming that the 2021 head unit is unchanged from a hardware standpoint, then we're looking at a semi-decent chance that Honda actually adds this feature in a future update.